The Board of Trustees of the University of Oregon

What is a trustee?

Trustees—members of the UO’s governing board—are public officials who hold a fiduciary responsibility for the university. Fiduciary responsibility is often thought of as financial management, but it is much more than that. It is about overall management, oversight, and sustainability of the institution. Trustees are not compensated for their work on the board.

Ginevra Ralph '83 MA '85, Board Chair

Ginevra Ralph, a University of Oregon alumna, received her bachelor's degree in history with distinction from the Honors College in 1983, Phi Beta Kappa, and her master's degree in special education in 1985.

Steve Holwerda MBA '91, Vice Chair

Steve Holwerda, CFA, is a principal owner and managing director for Ferguson Wellman Capital Management.  Before joining the firm in 1989, he served as a regional director for the University of Oregon athletic department, and a national director for the NCAA Volunteers for Youth.

Marcia Aaron ‘86

Marcia Aaron is the Founder and former CEO of KIPP SoCal Public Schools. In January 2022, she will join Charter School Growth Fund as a Portfolio Investment Partner. Ms. Aaron was the founding Board Chair of KIPP LA Public Schools, the predecessor to KIPP SoCal, and the Board Chair of KIPP Academy of Opportunity, prior to becoming the Founding Executive Director of KIPP LA.

Tim Boyle '71

Tim Boyle, a native Oregonian, is the Chairman, President & CEO of Columbia Sportswear Company – one of the world’s largest outdoor and active lifestyle apparel and footwear companies.  An alumnus of Portland, Oregon's Jesuit High School (1967), he graduated from the University of Oregon in 1971 with a bachelor’s degree in Journalism.

Renée Evans Jackman ‘97

Renée Evans Jackman is the grants management director at the DC Department of Behavioral Health responsible for the strategic direction and execution of the grants management office. Prior to her work at the Department of Behavioral Health, Evans Jackman served in the Office of the State Superintendent of Education as the Director of Fiscal Operations and Grants Management, and as the Director of Public Charter School Financing and Support.

Toya Fick

Toya Fick is the president and CEO of the Meyer Memorial Trust. In this role, she is responsible for executing on the foundation’s mission to accelerate racial, social, and economic justice throughout Oregon.

Elisa M. deCastro Hornecker ’82

A life-long Oregonian, Elisa deCastro Hornecker graduated from the University of Oregon with a Bachelor of Arts Degree in International Studies and Political Science.

Ross Kari '80 MBA '83

Ross Kari is a native Oregonian who received his bachelor's degree in mathematics and his master's degree in business administration from the University of Oregon.

Julia Lo, Student

Julia Lo is the student member of the board of trustees. She is a junior at the Clark Honors College, majoring in biology and minoring in business administration. On campus, Lo is currently the Vice President of Foundation for her sorority, Delta Gamma, Alpha Delta chapter.

Ed Madison PhD ’12, Faculty

Ed Madison, PhD, is a University of Oregon alumnus (Communication & Society ’12). Madison’s multifaceted career in media and journalism began as a high school intern at the Washington Post-owned CBS television affiliate in Washington, DC.

Jamie Moffitt, Ex Officio

Ex Officio Member Jamie Moffitt is the interim president of the University of Oregon. She was appointed to the position on March 13 by the university’s Board of Trustees. As interim president, Moffitt is the institution’s chief executive officer and is focused on advancing the UO’s mission through enhancing academic and research excellence, supporting student access and success, improving inclusion and diversity, and providing an outstanding campus experience. 

Lillian Moses '09, Non-Faculty Staff

Lillian Moses is the Director of Housing Capital Construction at the University of Oregon. She was born in Oregon and received her bachelor of arts degree in Architecture from the University of Oregon in 2009. She has since spent over ten years in commercial construction general contracting.

Connie Seeley '92

Connie Seeley is a native Oregonian, who graduated from the University of Oregon with a bachelor’s degree in political science. She has over twenty years of experience in the public sector spanning organizational governance, administration, governmental relations, public affairs, crisis communications, and Board relations.

Jenny Ulum, MA '83

Jenny Ulum is a longtime public relations and public affairs executive and an active community volunteer. A graduate of North Bend High School, she attended Linfield College, earning a degree in communications and sociology.

Dennis Worden ‘06

Dennis Worden, member of the Coeur d’ Alene tribe, graduated from the University of Oregon with a bachelor’s degree in geography in 2006. After graduating, Worden worked as a staffer for Congressman David Wu, where he created a resolution commemorating the 50th anniversary of Celilo Falls’ flooding and the impact it had on Tribes.