

Committee Membership

Peter Bragdon	
Allyn Ford	
Ross Kari	

Present Absent Present Chuck Lillis, ChairPresentGinevra RalphPresentMary WilcoxPresent

The Executive and Audit Committee (EAC) of the Board of Trustees of the University of Oregon (Board) met via telephone with a public location available in Johnson Hall (conference room) on the UO's Eugene campus on June 14, 2019. Below is a summary of committee discussions and actions. An audio recording is maintained on file.

Convening. EAC Chair Chuck Lillis called the meeting to order at 11:01 a.m. and a quorum was verified.

UO-OHSU Biomedical Data Science Center MOU. Professor of Biology and Executive Director of the Data Science Initiative Bill Cresko provided an overview of the planned biomedical data science center, which would be a joint effort between the UO and OHSU. He spoke to the scientific research and clinical work at each institution that would be enhanced by the joint center. Cresko described some of the work that the center will do and, in particular, spoke about how the work in the center will relate to the other data science foci that are part of the UO's overall data science initiative. He also spoke more about the positions affiliated with the center, including the director, associate directors, and faculty. There was discussion with trustees about issues such as: inter-institutional partnerships, ultimate size and scope of the center, leadership structure, appointment structure between the two universities, the challenges and opportunities of joint appointments, the timeline for development, how separation/termination may work, and how we can and would measure the success of the center. Trustees also discussed with Cresko the sources of funding to pay for the commitments in the MOU; Cresko noted that some funding will come through philanthropy, some from grant funding, some from graduate tuition revenue, and some from investments through the general fund that will hopefully be offset by additional tuition revenue going forward.

ACTION: The resolution was moved by Ginevra Ralph and seconded by Mary Wilcox; it passed without dissent.

Adjournment. The meeting adjourned at 11:40 a.m.